google-site-verification=v_ojTaMohJeo-zMR6dxs4uqmPG--f6BHSUrxH3Vts3U 332147538997724
top of page
Post: Blog2_Post

A Roosevelt man is being accused of rape of a child


By Travis Uresk

7/29/23


Roosevelt, Ut.- Detective Kirkham was assigned a case to follow up on a possible rape of a child.

The Detective interviewed the 12-year-old female at the Children's Justice Center on 7/20/23. The girl informed the Detective she had lied to her mother about where she was going on the night of 7/18/23.

She stated she contacted a male whom she calls "Gingy," who was later identified as 20-year-old Jordan Paul Mitchell, to pick her and her friend up. The girl stated the three of them went to Constitution Park in Roosevelt and went to the skate park parking lot.


The 12-year-old said her friend got out of the vehicle, and she texted her friend that she and Jordan were "Going to do something."

She told the Detective this was when she and Jordan had sex.


After they were done having sex, she texted her friend, and all three went to Jordan's house.

On 7/24/23, Detective Kirkham contacted Jordan at his residence in Roosevelt and provided him with his Miranda Rights. Jordan understood and was willing to speak with the Detective.

Det. Kirkham asked Jordan if he had ever had sex with the 12-year-old girl, and he admitted to having sex with her.

Jordan was taken into custody by being handcuffed and taken to the Duchesne County Jail.




Utah Statutory Rape Laws

By Jessica Gillespie

November 07, 2019



In Utah, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone 15 or younger), even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape.


Statutory rape laws are premised on the assumption that minors are incapable of giving informed consent to sexual activities. Their incapacity is written into the statute—hence the term, "statutory" rape. The age of consent can vary among states, and some states differentiate between consensual sex between minors who are close in age (for example, two teenagers of the same age), as opposed to sex between a minor and a much older adult.

Though statutory rape does not require that the prosecutor prove an assault, it is still rape.


Of course, rape that does involve force or an assault is illegal in Utah and prosecuted as forcible rape. Assaults of a sexual nature may also be charged under the state's assault and battery or child enticement or molestation laws.


Rape of a child includes sexual intercourse between a minor who is 13 or younger and a defendant who is 18 or older. This offense is a first degree felony and is punishable by at least six years (and up to life) in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. (Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-3-301, 76-5-402.1 (2018).)






Comments


bottom of page